Chicken Herbed Pan Sauce w/Mashed potato and spinach salad!

I needed a quick but different chicken recipe! I found this on a blog from the WC board. Elly, http://ellysaysopa.vox.com/ , has great recipes and all are not only delicious but easy to make!

Enjoy!

 

Chicken Herbed Pan Sauce with Chive Mashed Potatoes and Spinach Salad!

Chicken:

Serves 2

1 Tbsp. olive oil
2 chicken breast halves, pounded to about 1/3″ thick-I didn’t pound them. Left them as is and cooked them that way! They did just fine!
1 small shallot, diced-I used yellow sweet onion since that is what I had on hand. Use less though as onion is stronger!
1 clove garlic, minced
2 Tbsp. chopped fresh marjoram, thyme, rosemary & sage (or whatever herbs you want!)-I used dried Italian seasoning and fresh thyme from my Aerogarden! 🙂
1/3 cup dry white wine
1/2 cup chicken broth
1/2 Tbsp. butter (optional but well…it’s butter 🙂
salt and pepper to taste

Heat a skillet over medium heat. Add the olive oil until shimmering. Season the chicken with salt and pepper, and then cook in the oil, about 4 minutes per side or until done. Remove the chicken and keep warm.

Add the shallots to the pan and saute until tender. Add the garlic and herbs and cook until the garlic is fragrant, about 30 seconds.

Pour in the white wine and cook it down by half. Add the chicken broth and do the same. Season the sauce to taste with salt and pepper, and add the butter in to melt. Serve sauce over chicken.

 Mashed potatoes:

I used leftover mashed potatoes, mixed them with butter, sour cream, fresh chives from my Aerogarden, and salt and pepper to taste. I don’t eat potatoes much, but H said they were great!

Salad:

Chop fresh spinach and mix with cucumbers and green pepper chunks. Add in dried cherries, honey roasted almonds, and pine nuts. I then drizzled Pinot Grigio vinegarette over it. Our favorite salad to eat!

I also served steamed broccoli since I don’t eat potatoes! 

Enjoy!!!

One Comment on “Chicken Herbed Pan Sauce w/Mashed potato and spinach salad!”

  1. elly says:

    glad you liked the chicken! the salad looks so yummy. mmm.


Leave a Reply

