Citrus Salmon

We are trying to add more healthy dishes to our menus. This is a great, easy, healthy meal I had originally found on, Joy Through Cooking blog http://megpug.blogspot.com/2007/11/oh-my-darlin-clementine-salmon.html. It is now one of our favorite weekly meals!

Enjoy!

Ingredients:

2 salmon filets-I used skinless

1 Tbsp olive oil
1/4 c. dry white wine
1/8 tsp orange zest (I did zest of 2 clementines)-I also use the juice from it too!
1/8 tsp lemon ( I just did zest of 1 lemon)-I also used the juice from it too!
1 small garlic clove, minced
salt and ground rainbow peppercorns –I used regular salt and pepper!

Salsa to top salmon with:

1 tomato, chopped fine-I used grape tomatoes about 8 of them
2 clementines, sections cut in thirds-I used my clementines for juice, so here I used a small can of mandarins
1/3 a red onion, finely chopped-I used a small yellow onion..green onion also works great!

Directions:

Heat heavy saute pan over medium high heat . Add olive oil to pan and swirl to coat. Add salmon, to hot pan and cook until browned, about 3 minutes. Season top of salmon with zests and juice, garlic, and salt and ground pepper. (I combined it in a bowl and them mixed and spooned/brushed on and then I added the remaining juice and zezts to the pan with the oil). Flip steak in pan and cook until browned, about 3 minutes. Remove skin from bottom of steak and discard (I used skinless).In the meantime, mix tomato, chopped clementine, onion, in a small bowl and set aside. Add white wine to pan and swirl to coat. Flip salmon steak in pan and swirl to pick up browned bits in pan halfway through. Cook till salmon is done through. Top fish with fresh tomato mixture and serve. When adding the juice of the fruit as well, it gives it more of a citrus flavor. We like adding it and with the white wine it creates a nice glaze!! Total time to cook is only about 20 mins. Very nice quick meal!

One Comment on “Citrus Salmon”

  1. Meghan says:

    Glad you enjoy the recipe! I love it too – your changes sound fab! 🙂
    I just love fruit with fish!


Leave a Reply

