Banana Bread

I make banana bread about 3 times a month. I always use the same recipe, but this time wanted to try something new. I found this recipe in my old Better Homes and Garden cookbook. I love the recipes in here because they are tried and true recipes my mom used to make! The banana taste in this recipe was outstanding. They suggested using just brown spotted bananas instead. I have always used very brown ones!

Enjoy!

Ingredients:

1 1/2 cups all purpose flour

1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder

1/4 teaspoon baking soda

1/4 teaspoon cinnamon

1 egg

1 cup mashed bananas (3 medium)

3/4 cup sugar

1/8 teaspoon salt

1/4 cup cooking oil

Directions:

Grease the bottom and 1/2 inch up the sides of a loaf pan. Heat oven to 350.

In a medium bowl, combine flour, baking powder, baking soda, cinnamon, and salt. Make a well in the center of the dry mixture and set aside.

In another bowl, combine the egg, bananas, sugar, and cooking oil. Add egg mixture all at once to try mixture. Stir just until moistened. Batter should be lumpy. Pour into prepared pan. Bake for 50-55 mins. Cool in pan on wire rack for 10 mins. Remove loaf from pan and cool completely. Once cool, wrap and store overnight before slicing. Makes 1 loaf!

2 Comments on “Banana Bread”

  1. Erin says:

    Your banana bread looks lovely! It baked up so nice and evenly and has gorgeous color! This is the recipe that I’ve always used, but I want to try new ones too!

  2. Chelsea says:

    Tried this one too…although my bread was kind of dry – maybe I needed more banana (we only had two not three)? Not sure. It still tastes yummy, but isn’t as moist as I was hoping for.


Leave a Reply

