Cornbread muffins

H loves cornbread, & I don’t. So I was unsure of how to make it, what it should really taste like after and if they came out well or not! H seemed to really like them and even asked for them again..So I guess I did OK! 🙂

I found this recipe after much searching.  I was able to find the old-fashioned way of making them by putting the batter in a VERY HOT muffin pan. I guess that is how they were originally made many many years ago. They are really supposed to be crunchy on the outside and very moist in the middle. Mine turned out like the recipe suggested…Follow the directions carefully!

Enjoy!

Ingredients:

1 egg beaten

1 1/3 cups milk

1/4 cup oil or melted shortening

2 cups Martha White Buttermilk Self-Rising Corn meal mix

Directions:

Heat oven to 450 degrees. Grease muffin/cupcake pan and place in oven to heat.

In a large bowl, combine all ingredients. Make sure to MIX WELL! Pour batter into HOT muffin/cupcake pan about 2/3 full. Bake for 15 mins. Watch carefully, test often. If over baked they will dry out terribly. I took mine out at 11 mins.  Top with honey or butter!

Leave a Reply

