Salmon with a brown sugar, bourbon sauce

I was stumped on what to make for dinner and noticed the grocery store had salmon on sale. So I picked up a couple fillets and tried to figure out what to make. Then I stumbled upon this recipe from AllRecipes. I did however s and p the fillets first and added a bit more bourbon, but a less brown sugar ( I think I only used 1 tbsp of the brown sugar) so it wouldnt be too caramel-y! It was great! And very quick! I served it with a light salad and a strawberry, grape, kiwi mixture to enjoy the fruits of the season! What a great meal!

ENJOY!

INGREDIENTS: I halved the recipe for just the two of us
4 tablespoons butter-I used 2 tbsp
1/2 cup dark brown sugar-I used the Splenda blend (with the Splenda blend you use half anyway, and then I used less than that) and used a bit less so it wasnt so sugary..I only used 1 tbsp for our two fillets since it was halved and too much brown sugar is too much for this recipe.
4 (6 ounce) salmon steaks-I used two
1/3 cup bourbon whiskey-I used a bit more If making this as a full recipe, not half, use maybe like a 1/2 cup..I used 4 tbsps. for our halved recipe. It gave it a nice bourbon-y kick. Just the right amt.
DIRECTIONS:
1. Melt butter in a large heavy skillet over medium heat. Stir in brown sugar. Place salmon fillets on top of brown sugar mixture. Cook for 5 minutes on medium heat. Turn salmon, and pour bourbon around the fillets. Continue cooking for 5 minutes, or until fish flakes easily with a fork. Spoon glaze over the salmon, and serve.
2 Comments on “Salmon with a brown sugar, bourbon sauce”

  1. katie102006 says:

    YUM! This looks great. I’m so jealous of you and your fabulous salmon recipes (dh is deathly alergic) ::sigh::

  2. Katie says:

    This is exactly what I was looking for, will definitely have to try it!!! Thanks!!!!


Leave a Reply

