Tasty Tools July: Pastry Brush for APPLE PIE

H loves apple pie for his birthday. So today I made his pie using my mom’s DELICIOUS recipe! To get the great golden top, I brush on an egg wash and some sugar! I used my pastry brush for the Tasty Tools to help spread the egg wash and sugar evenly! Check out Tasty Tools events and recipes at, http://joelens.blogspot.com/2008/06/join-my-july-blogging-adventures.html

This recipe was also submitted in the Pie in the eye event for Joelen’s Culinary Adventures August events!

ENJOY!

Mom’s Apple Pie

Ingredients:
10-11 large apples ( Macintosh preferred)
1cup of sugar ( sometimes I put in 11/2 cups because we like it sweet)
2T spoons of flour-I used 4T to keep it thick and not too runny or thin
1T of cinnamon-I used 2 T
butter slices to put on top before placing pasty top on
2 unbaked pasty pies or dough rolled out for bottom of pan and top of pie

Directions:
Mix sugar, flour, cinnamon and set aside.
Cut up apples in slices not too thin after peeling and coring.
Pour sugar, flour, cinnamon over apple slices and toss to coat well. Let sit a couple minutes.
Pour in unbaked pie shell. It will be filled and piled high. That is OK!
Slice cold butter and put over apples.
Cover with top crust. Cut slits into top crust to vent steam while baking.
Freeze well wrapped or bake at 375 for about 1 hour or until crust is brown and apples are cooked. I bake at 425 for 20 mins and then 375 for 50 mins. I also use a pie shield to protect the crust from over burning. Also, brush the pie with an egg wash and sprinkle with sugar before baking.
Cool on rack before serving at least 15 mins. It is hot. Brush with more sugar while cooling to get a nice sweet crust!

4 Comments on “Tasty Tools July: Pastry Brush for APPLE PIE”

  1. Oh my goodness! This looks to die for! That reminds me, I need to get on my Tasty Tools entry.

  2. Joelen says:

    Nothing is more American that apple pie! It looks so good and thanks so much for participating in the Tasty Tools event this month! 🙂

  3. […] a bit. I used my normal apple pie recipe but instead used a crumb top as the top layer. Here is my apple pie recipe and crumb top below. I baked it as I would my normal pie recipe […]

  4. […] Another fall favorite from my mom was her apple pie! Warm, appley goodness! Apple Pie […]


Leave a Reply

