Breadmaker Basic Whole Wheat Bread

I finally pulled the old bread maker out to make some nice homemade bread. I am on such a homemade kick right now for a few reasons. One, I enjoy doing it and homemade always tastes 100% better than anything else especially baked goods, two I hate buying processed, canned, pre-made anything right now…you never know what is in it and how they really baked/cooked it, and third, it is so much more cost efficient! I know I know, the cost of bread isnt bad at all, actually kinda cheap, but if I can make homemade bolognese sauce all day long, then I can also make bread. It has been years since I have done this and I used to love all the recipes in my bread maker manual, which is now no where to be found, so I went straight to my favorite site, Cook’s Illustrated and checked out their recipes. You cant go wrong with CI; tested, tried, and foolproof. So, as I type it is kneading away….3 hours and bread!

ENJOY!

    

Basic Wheat Bread for Bread Machines

1/2 cup water , plus 1 tablespoon
1 large egg 
2 teaspoons unsalted butter 
1 teaspoon lemon juice 
2 tablespoons nonfat dry milk , plus 2 teaspoons
2 tablespoons honey -I used molasses for a deeper flavor but honey works just as great
1 teaspoon table salt 
1 1/2 cups bread flour 
1/2 cup whole wheat flour 
1 1/2 teaspoons dry active yeast 

Add ingredients in order suggested in owner’s manual; continue process with machine on basic/standard or whole-wheat bread setting.

3 Comments on “Breadmaker Basic Whole Wheat Bread”

  1. Kelsey says:

    Mmmm…yummy. Just looking at the picture brings the smell to mind!

  2. Joelen says:

    That is one thing I don’t have – a breadmaker! It looks great and since I’m a bit intimidated with yeast, I don’t bake bread from scratch.

  3. Alicia says:

    Want it to be even better? Let the bread maker do the mixing, but then bake it in the oven. There is no substitute for oven baked homemade bread!


Leave a Reply

