Tasty Tools August: Whisk. Creamy, garlic buttermilk dressing

I wanted to find a good recipe to use for the August Tasty Tools, but that wasn’t scrambled eggs or such. So after making a great chicken salad, I thought about making dressing. It was a great idea to use a whisk and use up some of the leftover buttermilk I had from my Reese’s Cupcakes. This dressing was light and delicious and so flavorful that you don’t need to use a lot. It makes about a cup, but lasts for a few weeks in the fridge for future meals. I found this recipe in the Cooking Light 1993 cookbook. I did add some dill and a bit less thyme as they suggested as I prefer more of a dill flavor in my dressing. I also used full fat mayo and light buttermilk as opposed to the fat free as they suggested! This is a dressing I would use over the store bought brands.
Check out the other Tasty Tools Recipes and other August Events on Joelen’s Culinary Adventures!

Enjoy!

  

Ingredients:
1/2 cup plus 1 tbsp. of nonfat buttermilk-I used light
1/4 cup plus 1 tbsp. of nonfat mayonnaise-I used reg.
1 tbsp. of grated onion
1/4 to 1/2 tsp. pepper
1/4 tsp salt
1/4 tsp. garlic-I used 1 tsp. we like it garlicky!
1/4 tsp dried whole thyme-I used a bit less and added 1/4 dried dill
Dash of curry powder-I omitted, not our fave flavor

Directions:
Combine all ingredients in a small bowl. Stir well with a wire whisk. Cover and chill thouroghly. Serve with a fresh greens salad topped with chicken or shrimp. Also great with a veggie tray.

One Comment on “Tasty Tools August: Whisk. Creamy, garlic buttermilk dressing”

  1. Joelen says:

    What a great recipe to share! Thanks so much for participating in the August Tasty Tools! 🙂


Leave a Reply

