1-2-3-4 Cake

I had noticed this recipe on the back of the Swans Down Cake Flour box for a while now, so today I decided to whip up a batch. I used cupcakes instead of cake rounds and they turned out great. The cake was super moist and very flavorful. What we LOVED best was the hint of almond flavor in it. I hadn’t ever thought to add almond to a vanilla cake, but it tasted great. It brought out the vanilla flavor quite a bit. This is our new go to yellow cake recipe HANDS DOWN! Definitely try this recipe! I topped it with the Wilton Butter cream recipe in my blog!

ENJOY!

   

Ingredients:
1 cup butter
2 cups sugar
3 cups cake flour
3 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
4 eggs
1 cup milk
1 tsp vanilla extract
1/2 tsp almond extract

Directions:
Preheat oven to 350. Butter and flour three 9 inch cake pans (I used cupcake liners and cupcake pan). In a mixing bowl cream butter and gradually add sugar, creaming until light and fluffy. Add eggs one at a time, beating well after each addition. In another bowl sift flour with baking powder and salt. Add flour mixture alternately with milk and flavorings, beating after each addition until smooth. Pour batter into prepared pans. Bake for 25-30 mins. Cool in pans 10 mins and remove from pans to finish cooling. Top with Wilton Butter cream Frosting (see blog)!

6 Comments on “1-2-3-4 Cake”

  1. joelen says:

    Awesome! Almond extract is one item I have but I haven’t used enough. Thanks so much for sharing this!

  2. katie102006 says:

    Yummy! Those look like the perfect example of a cupcake!

  3. Kayash says:

    Wow those look really yummy. I think I’m going to have to try these, always on the hunt for great cupcakes!

  4. Cate says:

    These looks like cupcakes straight out of my childhood! I can’t wait to try it with the almond!

  5. Just bought almond extract for the first time this weekend. Can’t wait to make these. How many cupcakes did you get from this recipe? Thanks.

  6. Made these this past weekend and they were great!


Leave a Reply

