Bourbon BBQ sauce for meats

I love bbq sauce on meats. It is great on burgers, grilled or baked chicken, pork..you name it, I love it. So rather than crack open another jar of sauce, I thought why not try to make it. I found a great recipe for Bourbon BBQ sauce and knew I had to try it! Serve over warm meats or as a glaze to baked or grilled meats!

This does make  A LOT. I individually froze it for later use…not sure if it will taste ok later, but I did anyway! LOL. I would cut the recipe back if you dont want leftovers. You can store in fridge for a few weeks too if you know you will use again soon!

ENJOY!

Ingredients:

  • 3 tablespoons butter
  • 3 tablespoons canola oil
  • 1 cup chopped onion
  • 1/2 cup bourbon
  • 3/4 cup ketchup
  • 1/2 cup cider vinegar
  • 1/2 cup orange juice
  • 1/2 cup pure maple syrup
  • 1/4 cup dark molasses, unsulphured
  • 2 tablespoons Worcestershire sauce
  • 1/2 teaspoon coarsely ground black pepper
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt

Preparation:

In a saucepan, melt the butter with the oil over medium heat. Add the onions and sauté for until golden, about 5 minutes. Add remaining ingredients and stir to combine; reduce heat to low and cook until thickened, about 30 to 45 minutes. Stir often.

Use as barbecue sauce or serve warm with grilled meats.

**I brushed the sauce on two chicken breasts and baked them in a glass pan covered with foil for about 30 mins on 350. Then I took the foil off, brushed more sauce on and baked another 15-20 mins (or until yours are done. Mine were thin breasts). It came out great-moist, juicy, delish!

Store the rest of the sauce in your refridge few weeks.

One Comment on “Bourbon BBQ sauce for meats”

  1. […] feeding and leftovers..Ours was 2.5 lbs. 1 can coke Garlic Powder to rub on pork BBQ Sauce-I used Homemade Bourbon BBQ sauce Monster decorations for bun-I used grape tomatoes, carrot sticks, and red pepper for the […]


Leave a Reply

