Apple Betty

This is a family favorite. There is nothing like a good Macintosh apple in Michigan during the fall. Apple pies, applesauce, baked apples, fresh off the tree, and of course my mom’s OUTSTANDING recipe for Apple Betty. We devour this every time it is made. So today, I decided to make it to enjoy some Michigan Macintosh apples. I doubled the recipe and used a 9×13 pan.

I have also submitted this to Joelen’s Culinary Adventures Mykind of town Thanksgiving Adventure! Even though I am in Tampa now, I will never lose my Michigan roots and my love of everything fall! Check out her blog for all the recipes and great ideas!

ENJOY!

dsc039622

dsc039811

Ingredients:

  • 4 cups thinly sliced apples  
  • 3/4 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 cup white sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon  
  • 1 pinch salt
  • 1/2 cup butter

DIRECTIONS:
  1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees F (190 degrees C). Lightly grease a 9 inch pie plate.
  2. Mound sliced apples in the pie plate.
  3. In a medium bowl, mix the flour, sugar, cinnamon, and salt. Cut in butter until the mixture resembles coarse crumbs. Scatter over the apples.
  4. Bake in preheated oven for 45 minutes.
4 Comments on “Apple Betty”

  1. Kelsey says:

    This looks so good. Nothing like a classic dessert to get you all warm, fuzzy, and full!

  2. ash says:

    oh goodness this looks good! wish i had some apples right now and i’d whip this up!

  3. Katie says:

    YummM! I could go for some of this right now!

  4. […] Nothing says fall in our house growing up more than Apple Betty. OMG when this is baking the house smells amazing and brings me right back to my childhood. My mom would make this on a Sunday with  a great roast beef dinner and everything seemed perfect then. A great meal and a warm comforting dessert after. This is easy to make and is great for all the fall apples out there. Apple Betty […]


Leave a Reply

