Creamy Potato Soup with Chives (MY 200th POST!!!)

I cant believe this is my 200th post!! Back in July I had my 100th post and I cant believe I am already posting my 200th post on here. My blog has become such an obsession for me. I am totally in love with baking and cooking and find it is such a stress reliever for me and brings me such joy to share my dishes with everyone. I do have to thank my mom who was the first cook who inspired me, my brother  ( A VERY GOOD COOK)who has taught me numerous cooking techniques and ideas, my gals on the Cooking Board, and of course my husband who day in and day out is my taste-tester and always has something nice to say about what I have made even if it isn’t something he likes! He is so supportive!

Thanks to all my readers as well. I started this blog to share my treats with you all and it is the reason I continue to keep the blog going! Thanks for always reading it, trying the recipes and for your great comments!! I appreciate all your support!!

Here is to the next 100 recipes…keep a look out for all the wonderful holiday recipes I will be sharing with you all!! HAPPY COOKING AND EATING!!!

The soup recipe I chose was from Cook’s Illustrated, one of my all time favorite sites. The recipe was very quick to make even on a busy night and the soup was very very very good!!!! I will definitely make this soup again! The great potato flavor with the wine makes for a very deep flavor and great warming soup!!! Cook’s Illustrated did it again!!!

ENJOY!

dsc04050

Serves 4 to 6.   Published November 1, 1996.

Either chicken or vegetable broth can be used in this recipe.

Ingredients

2 tablespoons unsalted butter , or the same amount of vegetable or olive oil
1 medium onion , 3 medium shallots, or 1 medium leek (white and light green parts only), chopped
2 tablespoons dry sherry or white wine
2 large russet potatoes , (about 1 1/2 pounds), peeled and cut into 1/2-inch dice (about 4 cups)
2 cups low-sodium chicken broth or low-fat vegetable broth
1 teaspoon table salt
  ground white pepper
1 – 1 1/4 cups milk
2 teaspoons minced fresh chives

Instructions

  1. 1. Heat butter or oil in large saucepan over medium-high heat. Add onion; sauté until golden, about 5 minutes. Add sherry and potato; stir-cook until sherry evaporates, about 30 seconds.
  2. 2. Add stock, salt and pepper to taste to saucepan; bring to boil. Reduce heat to simmer; cover and cook until potatoes are tender, about 20 minutes.
  3. 3. Ladle potato mixture into blender. Add 1 cup milk; blend until very smooth. Return soup to saucepan; cook over low heat until warmed through. If soup is too thick, stir in additional milk to thin consistency. Adjust seasonings. (Soup can be refrigerated for 3 days and reheated just before serving.)
  4. 4. Ladle soup into individual bowls. Garnish with minced chives and serve immediately. **I also topped with a bit of cheese and sour cream! YUM!**
3 Comments on “Creamy Potato Soup with Chives (MY 200th POST!!!)”

  1. Melissa says:

    Congrats on your 200th!!! I love potato soup, I’ll have to try this one.

  2. Melissa says:

    Congratulations on making it to 200!
    The soup looks so creamy and delicious!

  3. […] Karen’s “blog thing” is doing well, receiving 200 to 400 hits or visits a day, depending on what she is blogging about and how often she posts.  Karen admits to checking her stats daily and sharing her blog with everyone she knows.  There is certainly a lot for her readers to devour.  “My blog is unique because I try to share recipes with items people usually have on hand for daily meals and baking and then every month I try to make something with a new ingredient, technique or tool,” Karen says.  She has shared countless recipes and ideas, reaching 100 posts on July 11, 2008.  The last line of the 100th post reads: “Off to create 100 more…”  On November 15, 2008, she did just that, posting #200. […]


Leave a Reply

