Ethel’s Sugar Cookies

Ahhh this recipe takes me back to my childhood baking days with my mom and sister!!!

This is the same recipe my mom used and what I have always used for baking our holiday cut-out cookies! The flavor of the dough is so buttery good, and it makes great, soft, delicious cookies. I wouldnt use any other recipe! Make sure to chill it enough to set up or rolling will be impossible. Chill at least an hour or overnight! Cut-outs can be frozen and then decorated with frosting. Also, these are better made a couple days before serving so the butter flavor can deepen over a couple days…SOOO GOOD!

I am also submitting this to Joelen’s Culinary Adventures Cookie Swap Blog Event. Check out her blog soon for all the delicious results!

HAPPY HOLIDAYS!

ENJOY!

pc050002

3/4 cup shortening..I use all butter
1 cup sugar
2 eggs
1/2 tsp lemon or 1 tsp vanilla extract..I always use vanilla
2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1 tsp baking powder
1 tsp salt.

Directions:

Mix shortening, sugar, eggs, and flavoring THOROUGHLY! Measure flour by dipping method or shifting. Stir flour, baking powder, and salt together. Blend into shortening mixture. Chill at least one hour or overnight.

Heat oven to 400 degrees. Roll dough to 1/8 inch thick on lightly floured board. Cut with cookie cutters and place on ungreased baking sheet. Bake 6 to 8 minutes or until cookies are a delicate golden color. NOT BROWNING! Makes about 4 dozen!

4 Comments on “Ethel’s Sugar Cookies”

  1. joelen says:

    Yum! I’ll have to try this recipe out with lemon extract. You know, this is pretty similar to my friend’s sugar cookie recipe. I think he mentioned the original recipe he got it from has OLEO as an ingredient (which he uses margarine for). I wonder if your mom used the same recipe too from back in the day?! Thanks for participating in the cookie adventure – can’t wait to feature it on the round up!

  2. […] at royal icing and have put it off for a while, but today was the day to try it. I made my usual sugar cookies in a simple circle shape and then followed Brown Eyed Baker’s tutorial of royal icing cookies. […]

  3. […] the one thing everyone must make—CUTOUTS Cutouts Ethel’s sugar cookies and a great glaze for the cookies (add almond extract for an old-fashioned flavor!) Sugar Cookie […]

  4. Cheri Harvey says:

    ok dough is chilling! John is going to love making cookies this weekend. I just wish my new cookie cutters would come (not like I need more).


Leave a Reply

