Frosting glaze for cut out cookies

I am not a fan of royal icing at all. I have never liked how hard and tasteless it is. I am in search of a good glaze that decorates well, but hardens, yet stays soft underneath! Does that make sense?? Hardens on the outside only, and still tastes great! After searching and searching, the girls on the WC board shared this recipe with me!

ENJOY!

pc1200041

It’s a super easy glaze. Just mix 1/2 cup powdered sugar with 1-2 tbs of water. Add it 1/2 tbs at a time until it gets to the consistency you want, it won’t take much! You can also add a little almond extract or vanilla extract, but it will thin it out, so add it with the water. It dries really pretty and kind of hard but still soft to your bite.

Remember if you add extract or liquid food coloring it will thin it, so add any liquids sparingly or it’ll get too thin.

I use a regular little kid’s watercolor paintbrush to apply it for details.

5 Comments on “Frosting glaze for cut out cookies”

  1. joelen says:

    Beautiful job (as usual!)

  2. Natalie says:

    another thing you might want to try…mixing the powdered sugar with half and half…DELICIOUS frosting! you just mix amounts of the two until you get the thickness and consistency you desire!

  3. JoAnn says:

    Karen-
    Send one large box with all of the Christmas cookies to me STAT! You will be doing it for my own good. Hurry. Oh good, I see the postman now. I am sure he has my cookies already. Go Karen!

  4. […] the one thing everyone must make—CUTOUTS Cutouts Ethel’s sugar cookies and a great glaze for the cookies (add almond extract for an old-fashioned flavor!) Sugar Cookie Bars with butter […]

  5. Dana says:

    I am wondering how long this icing takes to dry? Thinking of letting kids decorate cookies as a party activity and then take it home as a favor. I’ve never frosted sugar cookies, so I don’t know if this is possible.


Leave a Reply

