German Chocolate Cookies

When I saw this recipe on my Google Reader I knew I had to make them as we love German Chocolate cakes, so I knew we would love German Chocolate Cookies!! These are ooey, gooey good and full of deep chocolate taste! Found from Cookies on Friday Blog!

ENJOY!

dsc04145

½ cup butter, softened
½ cup brown sugar, packed
¼ cup sugar
1 egg
1 teaspoon vanilla
1 4-oz. bar German’s sweet chocolate, melted
1-1/4 cups flour
¼ cup cocoa powder
1 teaspoon baking soda
¼ teaspoon salt
1-1/2 cups flaked coconut
1 cup chopped pecans

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Line baking sheets with silicone baking mats.
In a large bowl beat butter and sugars with an electric mixer until fluffy. Add egg and vanilla and stir until combined. Add the melted chocolate and stir until combined.

In a separate bowl, combine flour, cocoa, baking soda, and salt. Gradually add to the butter mixture, beating until combined. Stir in the coconut and pecans. Drop batter by tablespoonfuls onto the cookie sheet.

Bake for 10-12 minutes or until cookies are set in the center. Let cool on the cookie sheet for 2 minutes and then remove to a wire rack to cool completely.

5 Comments on “German Chocolate Cookies”

  1. elly says:

    Oooh I am SO making these. German chocolate cake is one of my favorites!

  2. Kira says:

    Yum! German Chocolate Cake is one of my favorites as well. Those look delicious.

  3. joelen says:

    What a fabulous cookie idea! These are awesome – I wish I knew of this cookie back in October… they would have been perfect for my Oktoberfest party!

  4. Amy says:

    I just made these this weekend too- Normally I love warm cookies, but these are really good just out of the freezer!

  5. MEK says:

    After searching for a recipe to use up a 4 oz bar of Baker’s German Sweet Chocolate that I had on hand, this one filled the bill. VERY BIG HIT!!! I did not have coconut or pecans on hand; instead had a bag of slivered almonds, and added 1.5 cups of the almonds. Oh my goodness – both me and my husband just love these! They are very addicting – we will have to really ration them! Thank so much!


Leave a Reply

