Smoked Paprika Salmon with wilted spinach

In an effort to eat healthier after all of our holiday parties and the upcoming NYE and NY Day binge, we wanted some fish. I found this recipe in my January issue of Bon Appetit on a McCormick Ad. I was a bit nervous adding cinnamon and sugar to it with the other stronger spices, and found it was a bit too overwhelming. Next time I would cut back on the spice mixture added to the top as it totally over powered the salmon. It was good, but I would definitely change it up next time, if we decide to try it again! I did put ours over rice (H’s) and greens (Mine) instead of spinach!ENJOY!

pc300085

pc3000861

Ingredients:
1/4 cup orange juice
2 tablespoons  plus 1 teaspoon  olive oil, divided
2 teaspoons McCormick® Gourmet Collection™ Thyme Leaves, divided
2 pounds salmon fillets
1 tablespoon brown sugar
1 tablespoon McCormick® Gourmet Collection™ Paprika, Smoked
1 teaspoon McCormick® Gourmet Collection™ Cinnamon, Saigon
1 teaspoon grated orange peel
1/2 teaspoon McCormick® Gourmet Collection™ Sicilian Sea Salt
1 bag  (10 ounces)  fresh spinach leaves

Directions:
1.  Mix orange juice, 2 tablespoons of the oil and 1 teaspoon of the thyme in small bowl.  Place salmon in glass dish.  Add marinade; turn to coat.  Cover.  Refrigerate 30 minutes or longer for extra flavor.2.  Preheat oven to 400°F.  Mix brown sugar, smoked paprika, cinnamon, orange peel, remaining 1 teaspoon thyme and sea salt in small bowl.  Remove salmon from marinade.  Place in greased foil-lined baking pan.  Discard any remaining marinade. 

3.  Rub top of salmon evenly with smoked paprika mixture.  Roast 10 to 15 minutes or until fish flakes easily with a fork.

4.  Meanwhile, heat remaining 1 teaspoon oil in large skillet on medium heat.  Add spinach; cook 2 minutes or until wilted.  Serve salmon over spinach. 

3 Comments on “Smoked Paprika Salmon with wilted spinach”

  1. fingers80 says:

    I bet I would really like this… I love smoked salmon!

  2. joelen says:

    Aside from Mocorran/Middle Eastern cuisine, I’m slowly experimenting with cinnamon in more savory dishes! Thanks for the tip on how the amount of spice is a bit overwhelming… I’ll have to try this and see if I can tweak it a bit!

  3. Kristina says:

    I just got smoked paprika from Penzeys so I can try this.


Leave a Reply

