Hummus

To use my new FP for the first time, I wanted a recipe that H and I love. We love to eat hummus! So, I wanted a recipe I knew would be good and great for my first time making it. So, I turned to Cook’s Illustrated and used their recipe and it was great. They always hit a home run with us! And it was sooo quick to whip up!

ENJOY!

p1120001

p1120009

Ingredients

3 tablespoons juice from 1 to 2 lemons
1/4 cup water
6 tablespoons tahini , stirred well (see note)
2 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil , plus extra for drizzling
1 (14-ounce) can chickpeas , drained and rinsed (see note)
1 small garlic clove , minced or pressed through garlic press (about 1/2 teaspoon)
1/2 teaspoon table salt
1/4 teaspoon ground cumin
  Pinch cayenne
1 tablespoon minced fresh cilantro or parsley leavesYou can also add pine nuts or lamb…our two faves

Instructions

  1. 1. Combine lemon juice and water in small bowl or measuring cup. Whisk together tahini and 2 tablespoons oil in second small bowl or measuring cup. Set aside 2 tablespoons chickpeas for garnish.
  2. 2. Process remaining chickpeas, garlic, salt, cumin, and cayenne in food processor until almost fully ground, about 15 seconds. Scrape down bowl with rubber spatula. With machine running, add lemon juice-water mixture in steady stream through feed tube. Scrape down bowl and continue to process for 1 minute. With machine running, add oil-tahini mixture in steady stream through feed tube; continue to process until hummus is smooth and creamy, about 15 seconds, scraping down bowl as needed.
  3. 3. Transfer hummus to serving bowl, sprinkle reserved chickpeas and cilantro over surface, cover with plastic wrap, and let stand until flavors meld, at least 30 minutes. Drizzle with olive oil and serve.
4 Comments on “Hummus”

  1. […] Appetizer, Quick, breads   I forgot to grab pita bread at the store today to have with our homemade hummus, but remembered the girls on the WC board rave about how easy it is to make homemade pita bread. So […]

  2. Joelen says:

    I need to make this as a healthy alternative to dips. I’ve been craving Mediterranean food lately and this would so satisfy that craving!

  3. bensbaby116 says:

    I bet my husband would love this! I’ve never made a good homemade hummus. I’m definitely bookmarking this one for later!

  4. jen says:

    I am so glad you posted this!! Chad has been wanting me to make homemade hummus! I also got a cusinart 4 c. food processor for xmas (not as nice as yours, so jealous)!!! lol, I am going to make this, this weekend!! thanks!


Leave a Reply

