Pita Bread

I forgot to grab pita bread at the store today to have with our homemade hummus, but remembered the girls on the WC board rave about how easy it is to make homemade pita bread. So rather than run back out to the store, I decided to make it. And it really was easy!

ENJOY!

p1120015

Recipe from Recipezaar.com

Makes  8 rounds

  • 2 cups flour
  • 2 1/4 teaspoons quick-rising yeast
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 1/4 cups hot water (but not boiling)
  • 1-1 1/2 cup flour
  1. Combine first four ingredients in a large bowl.
  2. Beat well about 1 minute.
  3. Then mix in the remaining flour, using just enough to make a soft, sticky dough.
  4. Turn out on floured board and continue to knead for 5 minutes.
  5. Divide into 8 balls.
  6. Roll out each one to about 1/4 inch thick and 6 inches in diameter.
  7. Place on very lightly greased cookie sheet sprinkled with cornmeal (although cornmeal is really not necessary if you don’t have it).
  8. Let rise in warm place for 25-35 minutes .
  9. Bake at 450 for 4 min, and then turn over for 4 more minutes or until lightly browned.
  10. Wrap immediately in a dishtowel for 3 or 4 minutes.
7 Comments on “Pita Bread”

  1. Joelen says:

    I’m so going to make this when I make a mediterranean meal. Please let me know if these tend to dry out quickly and is best eaten the day of… or if I can freeze?

  2. bensbaby116 says:

    I love homemade pitas! Looks great.

  3. Melissa says:

    I guess I didn’t realize just HOW EASY these were! I am sure they were perfect with hummus, yum!

  4. claire says:

    Maybe I should try this one…the pitas I tried to make were not very good. I’d love to make some good ones.

  5. citygirlcooks says:

    I made this and it’s so good! I’m going to post it on my blog with a link back to you, if that’s cool!

  6. […] Recipe from recipezaar.com via Loves to Eat […]

  7. Uncanny says:

    I made this last night to eat with some hummus on it’s last legs. Yummy and easy!


Leave a Reply

