Risotto Cakes

Whenever I make risotto, it always makes a ton. So, I decided to try making  risotto cakes that I have been hearing about. I topped it with a lemon aioli, but any would work well. They were great and a great use of my leftover risotto. I used my basic risotto recipe the other day for our dinner.

ENJOY!

p1210004

Ingredients:
Leftover Risotto-I used basic risotto Any leftover risotto will work.
Panko or Bread Crumbs
Egg
Flour
EVOO for frying in pan

Directions:
Form risotto in to several patties. In three plates, add flour to one, egg beaten in other, and bread crumbs to the final plate.
After forming the patties, I quickly dipped them in the flour, then egg (let excess drip off), and then into bread crumbs. Once all were done, I refrigerated them for a couple hours to keep shape for easy frying.
Once firm, heat oil in pan. I used about 6 tbsp. Once warm drop patties into oil and fry about 3-5 minutes (or until golden brown) on each side. Let drain onto a paper towel while finishing the other patties. I served slightly warm with a bit of lemon aioli on top.

5 Comments on “Risotto Cakes”

  1. joelen says:

    Yum – these look delicious!I need to remember to try this the next time I made risotto.

  2. Kristen says:

    Oh these look so good!! I love risotto but have never tried them in a cake form! I’m anxious to try it now!

    Also, I love your blog and have given you an award! You can find it here:
    http://lepetitpierogi.blogspot.com/

  3. bensbaby116 says:

    Great idea for using leftover risotto!

  4. […] Risotto Cakes from lovestoeat […]


Leave a Reply

