Chicken soup with potatoes

After making a chicken a couple weeks back, I froze the carcass to use in a chicken soup. Well today it was very chilly and rainy here, so I decided to make a nice pot of chicken soup for dinner. I found this recipe on Cooks.com and added potatoes for a bit of a change from chicken noodle soup. The house smelled great as it simmered all afternoon long!

I have included the original recipe, but like I said, I used potatoes instead of noodles or rice. Your preference!

I also added three extra breasts because I had cleaned our bird clean when we ate it for lunches, so I needed extra breasts to bulk up the chicken in this recipe. It was perfect.

ENJOY!

p2020016

Ingredients:
1 leftover turkey carcass or 2 whole chicken breasts
3 qts. water
1 lg. onion, chopped
6 carrots, chopped
4 stalks celery, chopped
1 tbsp. parsley
1 tsp. dill weed
6 chicken bouillon cubes
1/2 tsp. garlic powder
1/2 tsp. pepper
1/2 tsp. onion salt
2 c. noodles or 1 1/2 c. rice

 

Directions:
Simmer poultry about 1 hour. Strain, reserving liquid. Pick meat off of bones. Return liquid and poultry to pan. Add remaining ingredients except noodles or rice. Simmer about 2 more hours. Add noodles or rice and cook until done, about 15 minutes more.
2 Comments on “Chicken soup with potatoes”

  1. […] more sandwich type bread than what I have been making. We really like this. It was great with our soup tonight and will be on our make often list for […]

  2. joelen says:

    This looks like a delicious and classic recipe!


Leave a Reply

