Classic 100% Whole Wheat Bread

Once again I am trying to use my KA for making breads more and getting used to using yeast and different recipes together, so I decided to turn to King Arthur for a never fail recipe (I found it on the back of the WW flour package). This recipe caught my attention. It does include directions on how to do it by hand, mixer or bread machine on the dough setting. I used my KA mixer. It came out great. It has a much deeper ww taste and is a softer more sandwich type bread than what I have been making. We really like this. It was great with our soup tonight and will be on our make often list for awhile.

ENJOY!

p2020003

Ingredeints:
2 1/2 teaspoons instant yeast or one package dry active dissolved in water
1 1/3 cups lukewarm water
1/4 cup vegetable oil
1/4 cup honey, molasses, or maple syrup. I used honey.
3 1/2 cups King Arthur Traditional Whole Wheat Flour
1/4 cup nonfat dried milk
1 1/4 teaspoons salt

Directions:
Mix all ingredients until flour is well mixed and it is pulling away from the sides. Knead dough for 6 to 8 minutes by hand or by mixer, until smooth and supple.  Let rise  in a lightly greased bowl until puffy but not necessarily doubled, about 60 minutes depending on the warmth of your kitchen. Shape the dough into an 8 inch loaf and place in a lightly greased 8 1/2 x 4 1/2 inch loaf pan. Proof for 30 to 60 minutes, or until the dough has crowned 1 inch above the edge of the pan. Bake at 350 degrees for 40 minutes or until dough registers 190 degrees in the center of loaf. Remove the bread from the pan and cool completely on a rack.

4 Comments on “Classic 100% Whole Wheat Bread”

  1. joelen says:

    Wonderful recipe! I’m wondering if subbing the nonfact dried milk will work as nicely… I need to definitely try this!

  2. Julia says:

    Can you bear a question from a newbie baker? If I’m using the KA stand mixer to make this, do I do the initial mixing with the paddle attachment and then switch to the dough hook? Or just use one or the other all the way through?

  3. lovestoeat says:

    i used the hook for the entire thing….i think you can use both, but i find it easier to just use the hook…

  4. oneparticularkitchen says:

    That looks great! I make the 100% WW sandwich bread from KAF at least once a week. My kiddo loves it!


Leave a Reply

