Sequilhos de coco: (Coconut and Cornstarch Cookies)

Joelen of Joelen’s Culinary Adventures  is hosting a foodie event with a Brazilian theme. I wanted to participate in the blogging part of it but wasn’t sure of what Brazilian dish I wanted to make and with having a  very very very close friend who happens to be Brazilian, I knew I didn’t want anything too hard or out of my comfort zone, so I could impress her! She always has great dishes, so I knew I needed something I was comfortable with so I could actually share a recipe with her…LOL!
Being that H is super busy lately, making a whole Brazilian meal for one would be hard. So I opted for a dessert. I found these very simple cookies at Maria’s Cookbook. I was very nervous to make these as I feared they would lack a lot of flavor and spread too much as it was a very sticky dough, but to my surprise  they were very flavorful. With so few ingredients I was very happy with these cookies and will definitely make these again. I did top a few of them with mini chocolate chips to enhance the coconut flavor as I love coconut and chocolate together, but the cookies without chocolate were even better.
**I did chill the dough for an hour before baking and I rolled them into balls not a cylinder and cut. This helps in spreading and I didn’t want to make cut cookies. They came out as they should have.**

Don’t forget to check out Joelen’s Culinary Adventures after Feb 21st for all the delicious Brazilian treats!

ENJOY!

p2060010

Ingredients:
4 cups cornstarch
2 oz freshly grated coconut
1 3/4 cups sugar
1 egg
1 pinch salt
1 1/2 cup tub margarine

Directions:
Preheat oven to 375° F. Sift together cornstarch and sugar. Add coconut, salt, egg and margarine. Mix with your fingertips to form a dough ball. Roll dough into 2-inch cylinder. (This is where I chilled the dough before rolling into 1 inch balls and smashed down with a fork). Cut into 1 inch slices to form cookies. Place cookies on greased cookie sheet. Use the tines of a fork to make grooves on the top of the cookies. Bake for 15 minutes. Let cool completely and keep in a tightly closed tin.

2 Comments on “Sequilhos de coco: (Coconut and Cornstarch Cookies)”

  1. Stef says:

    Wow, who would think cornstarch would turn into beautiful cookies! These look great.

    I also wanted to let you know that I nominated you for an award 🙂 You can pick it up here: [URL]http://kickinkitch.blogspot.com/2009/02/i-feel-so-flattered.html[/URL]

  2. Joelen says:

    Thanks for submitting a great looking recipe to this month’s Wine & Dine!! 🙂


Leave a Reply

