Rainbow Cake

When I saw this cake I knew I had to make it. It looked so fun and inviting. It will bring cheer to any party! It can be made into cupcakes if you prefer.

This was my first ever layer cake, so I apologize for the bad frosting. I did double the Wilton Icing recipe, but I could have used a lot more. For this high of  a cake I would use triple the recipe for enough coverage.

This cake was found on http://omnomicon.blogspot.com/2009/01/how-to-make-rainbow-cake.html .

ENJOY!

p3070050

Ingredients:
2 cake white cake mixes or two batches of your favorite white cake-Include all ingredients to make your cake.
6 different icing colors-The gel colors work best.  I used red, orange, yellow, blue, green, and purple.
Butter cream recipe-I used double but triple would have been better for this high of a layer cake.

Directions:
Preheat oven to 350. Prepare two 9 or 10 inch round pans for baking.
Mix cake mixes according to directions. Place 2 cups of the batter into six small bowls. Dye the bowls in rainbow colors (red in one bowl, orange in another, etc…). Mix well. Pour red, orange, and then yellow into one of the cake pans. As you pour the dyed batter in, wait a couple minutes until the colored batter has spread a bit. Then slowly add the next color. Finish with yellow.  Now pour the purple, blue and then green into the next pan. Slowly add the first color and let spread a bit. Then add the next couple colors slowly until each spread a bit. Your pans will be about half full. This makes 2 thick layers of cake. If you prefer, you can use one recipe of cake batter and only dye one cup of batter for each color. You may have some batter leftover. Save for later use or discard. If you use one cup of batter per color your cake will be a bit thinner but still pretty!!

Bake cakes according to directions. Let cool 5 mins before removing from pans. Let cool completely.

While cooling make frosting.

When cooled lay the purple, blue, green cake on plate or platter (purple side down). Fill in with butter cream on top for filling layer. Add the red, orange and yellow layer yellow facing down, red on top. Frost entire cake. Decorate cake as you prefer. I do let mine firm up in fridge for a bit for easier and neater cutting. ENJOY with a cold glass of milk.

p3070024

7 Comments on “Rainbow Cake”

  1. Amy says:

    This is so cool!! I checked the link on how to make it and it seems so easy. I will definitely have to try this!!

  2. Katie says:

    How FUN!! 🙂

  3. Melissa says:

    I can’t wait to try this. It looks so fun!

  4. Debbie says:

    I love the colors in the cake. I think it looks great. Love the frosting and spinkles too!!!

  5. Kristen says:

    Oh how fun!!! Your cake came out beautifully, I really want to try making this one! Great job!

  6. colleen says:

    This looks so delicious – and pretty!

  7. Erin says:

    I just made this and used your white cake recipe!! It turned out great, thanks for the idea!


Leave a Reply

