Lime Chicken Tacos

A great crock pot recipe that is light, healthy, and easy to put together. This recipe utilizes ingredients many of us have on hand so throwing this together before you head out to work is easy. I did use frozen chicken breast and they worked just fine. No need to defrost the breasts before putting in. I liked the lighter, less salty, less greasy Mexican taste and they were perfect paired with rice and chips and salsa. We put ours over low carb tortillas and it was a perfect meal!

I found this recipe on, Taste of Home webiste. Check it out for more delicious meals!

I also used a Pyrex dish as in insert to my crock pot to keep it from cooking too fast with a smaller portion. To cook for just the two of us, I find my 6 qt crock pot to cook too fast with less it in. I found this suggestion and it worked out PERFECTLY!

Pryrex inside crock pot for smaller portions

Pyrex inside crock pot for smaller portions

ENJOY!

p32400022

Ingredients:
1-1/2 pounds boneless skinless chicken breasts
3 tablespoons lime juice
1 tablespoon chili powder
1 cup frozen corn
1 cup chunky salsa
12 flour tortillas (6 inches), warmed
Sour cream, shredded cheddar cheese and shredded lettuce, optional

Directions:
Place the chicken in a 3-qt. slow cooker. Combine lime juice and chili powder; pour over chicken. Cover and cook on low for 5-6 hours or until chicken is tender. 
Remove chicken; cool slightly. Shred and return to the slow cooker. Stir in corn and salsa. Cover and cook on low for 30 minutes or until heated through. Serve in tortillas with sour cream, cheese and lettuce if desired. 

Makes: 12 tacos.

5 Comments on “Lime Chicken Tacos”

  1. shayneaja says:

    this is exactly the kind of crockpot recipe i’ve been looking for! something light that we can have before spinning class. thanks! I’m trying it tomorrow!

  2. Claire says:

    YUM! This sounds delicious! I need to get a party together and try this.

  3. Megan says:

    I’ve made something similar to that before – and it’s so good! I didn’t use lime juice, but I definitely will next time.

  4. Laura says:

    sounds delicious! What a great way to cook smaller portions too : )

  5. […] know.  I normally want my tacos traditional, with beef.  But when I came across this recipe from Loves To Eat the shredded chicken just looked so good, I couldn’t resist saving it!  I’m all about […]


Leave a Reply

