Spaghetti with shrimp and bacon

I got the latest issue of Martha Stewart Every Day Food and fell in love with almost all of the recipes. With it being Lent though, I was most interested in her seafood dishes. I stumble upon this one and while it didnt automatically interest me, I was glad I made it. I was afraid it would be way too salty, too bland, and nothing like what I was hoping for, but as most of Martha Stewart recipes do, it exceeded my expectations. It wasnt too salty, had great flavor and went well with angel hair pasta. Plus, it was a very quick recipe to make, so even on a very busy work/school night, this can be made and enjoyed!

ENJOY!

p3230025

Ingredients:
Coarse salt and ground pepper
12 oz. spaghetti
2 strips bacon chopped
8 oz. large peeled and deveined frozen shrimp thawed and halved horizontally
6 scallions chopped
2 cloves garlic minced
1 tbsp lemon juice

Directions:
In a large pot of boiling salted water, cook pasta to al dente. Reserve 1/2 cup of the pasta water. Drain pasta and return to pot.
While pasta is cooking, fry bacon oven medium heat until browned. Transfer to a plate of paper towel to drain.
Add shrimp to bacon pan with scallions and garlic. Cook, stirring often, until shrimp are almost opaque. Add 1/4 cup of the pasta water and bring to just a boil.
Add shrimp mixture and lemon juice to pasta. Season with salt and pepper and toss. Thin pasta with remaining water as needed. Serve with sprinkled bacon on top.

One Comment on “Spaghetti with shrimp and bacon”

  1. Joanne says:

    I love this recipe, when I make it for my self and my boyfriend , he has two big bowls and just thinks that I am the greatest cook in the world. I’ve passed this on to alot of my friends. What I do is double everything .


Leave a Reply

