Chewy Granola Bars

What a delicious snack! We love to have granola bars on hand for a quick, healthy, and easy snack, but with prices going up, a small box of granola bars (the good kind) just aren’t worth it anymore, plus the healthy ones bother us too much (YIKES), so when I saw this recipe on Delicious Meliscious and saw they weren’t too bad, I knew I had to make them. I did use WW flour and intensely dark chocolate chips instead (both are healthier), and omitted the raisins. I also used pecans instead of almonds per H request. The great thing about granola bars is you can add your own likings without hurting the flavor or texture of the bar.
We really liked the WW flour instead. It gave it a bit of a deeper flavor and was a bit healthier. 
I did line the pan with foil for easy lift out and cutting. It was a lifesaver to do this.

ENJOY!

dsc06773

Ingredients:
3 1/2 c. oatmeal
1 c. rice crispies
1 c. flour-I used WW
1 tsp baking soda
1 tsp vanilla
1/2 c. melted butter
1 mashed banana
1/2 c. honey
1/4 c. brown sugar
1 c. Dark Chocolate M&M’s-I used intense dark chocolate chips
1/2 c. raisins-I omitted
1/2 c. slivered almonds- I used pecans per H request!

Directions:
Preheat oven to 325F. Grease a 9 x 13 pan. (I also lined with foil and greased that.)
In large bowl, mix everything except the chocolate, raisins and nuts. Add those after the oatmeal mixture is well mixed.
Press into pan. Bake for 18-22 min, until golden brown. Cool 10 min, slice. Cool completely before removing from pan.

6 Comments on “Chewy Granola Bars”

  1. Niki says:

    I have made these too (with my own variation) and they are so good! and much more afordable.

  2. Patty says:

    Oh – I totally have to make these for my husband. I know I waste so much money on Chewy Granola bars. Yum!

  3. Sara says:

    These look great! I love your variations to the recipe. My hubby loves granola bars, so I’ll definately try out this recipe.

  4. oneparticularkitchen says:

    How great do those look? With summer coming we’re spending more and more time at the zoo. These would be great for on-the-go snacks for The Kiddo!

  5. Erin says:

    I was just about to comment, “What a pretty picture!”, then I realized that’s what I said on your last post! Haha… Did someone get a new camera? 😉 Either way, they look lovely. I’ll have to make them for my man sometime soon. He loves granola bars.

  6. lovestoeat says:

    LOL yes a new fantastic camera!!! i love it! thanks for noticing..


Leave a Reply

