Chocolate caramel nut bars

My weekly baking for H garage buddies continues. They have loved everything I have sent, but have especially loved the caramel nutty type bars the best. So this week when I came across this recipe on Kraft.com, I knew this is what I would be making!

ENJOY!

P5210004

Ingredients:
1 bag (14 oz.) KRAFT Caramels
1 can  (5 oz.) evaporated milk, divided
1 pkg. (2-layer size) German chocolate cake mix with pudding in the mix
1/2 cup  (1 stick) butter or margarine, melted
1-1/2 cups chopped PLANTERS Walnuts, divided-Any walnuts are fine
1 cup  BAKER’S Semi-Sweet Chocolate Chunks, divided
Directions:
PREHEAT oven to 350°F. Place caramels and 1/3 cup of the milk in heavy saucepan; cook on low heat until caramels are completely melted, stirring frequently. Remove from heat; set aside. Mix remaining milk, dry cake mix and butter in large bowl. Press half of the cake mixture firmly onto bottom of 13×9-inch baking pan to form crust. Bake 10 minutes.

SPRINKLE 1 cup of the walnuts and 1/2 cup of the chocolate chunks over crust. Top with caramel mixture; carefully spread to edges of pan. Top with teaspoonfuls of the remaining cake mixture; press gently into caramel mixture with back of spoon. Sprinkle with the remaining 1/2 cup each walnuts and chocolate chunks.

BAKE an additional 18 minutes or until lightly browned. Cool completely. Cut into 32 bars to serve.

4 Comments on “Chocolate caramel nut bars”

  1. Molly Jean says:

    mmmm those look rich and delicious!

  2. Melissa says:

    These are my favorite brownie recipe! Someone gave it to me years ago and called it Knock You Naked Brownies! Yum, I wish I could reach through and take one from your post.

  3. Barista says:

    These look ridiculously good! I’m about to make my co-workers fat. God knows I can’t keep this stuff around my house or I’d be the one getting fat and I’d much rather they suffer than me.

  4. revxtreme shop says:

    Karen, these are our favorite treat!!! We told Mike that he is not allowed in the shop unless he brings some of your treats! Thanks!!!


Leave a Reply

