Fish tacos with avocado cream

Just like Proceed with caution, I am always on the hunt for great tasting fish tacos. The recipes I have posted have been good, ones we have made again, but nothing wows me like the ones we had in Hawaii. Then I found this recipe. I originally tried it because I had an avocado to use up, so I thought I would make them. I am so glad I did, because the avocado cream, taco seasonings, and other toppings I added made these OUTSTANDING. I wont use any other fish taco recipe AGAIN. I did add some low fat sharp cheddar, chopped spinach and diced tomatoes. My mouth waters just thinking of them. Plus there were SUPER  easy and quick to make!

ENJOY!

DSC07601

Ingredients:
For the tacos:
2 tilapia fillets-I used three to really fill our two per person tacos
taco seasoning
lime
cilantro
tortillas -we used ww tortillas

For the avocado creme:
1 small ripe avocado
1/4 C fat free sour cream-I used regular sour cream

Directions:
In a Ziploc bag, combine the juice of 1 lime with about a tbsp of taco seasoning. Shake the bag, to mix and then add in the tilapia fillets. Marinate this for about 10 minutes (while you heat your grill).
Before your turn on your grill, place a sheet of foil on the grill grates and spray with a non stick spray. (I used my grill pan with a bit of evoo on it). This is just an easier way to cook this fish. Turn grill heat to low & cook fish for about 10 minutes, turning once, until fish is white & flakey.
While the fish is cooking, scoop out the flesh of a small ripe avocado and combine with the sour cream. Set this aside.
Wrap tortillas in foil and place in the grill, on the top section to heat through.
To serve, spread warm tortillas with avocado creme. Top with flaked tilapia, and a sprinkling of cilantro.  I added chopped spinach, diced tomatoes and cheese.

3 Comments on “Fish tacos with avocado cream”

  1. Cate says:

    I am scared to attempt fish tacos at home because I’m afraid they won’t be nearly as good as the ones I can get in a restaurant… but I might have to give these a try!

  2. Shari Barnes says:

    This is one of my husband’s favorite meals!! The two restaurants where he usually orders these just took them off the menu so I will have to give these a try. THANKS for the recipe!! 🙂

  3. Joelen says:

    This is on my list to try soon. I saw fish tacos on a menu and passed on it for something else… and ever since I’ve been craving fish tacos!


Leave a Reply

