Gingerbread biscotti

Well my Christmas baking has begun. Today we put all the turkey day decor away, all the fall dishes, and pulled out everything Christmas, even all the Christmas baking items. First on the list was to bake for H garage buddies where he works on his car. I have been doing Christmas baking for so long, that the usual cutouts, snowballs, and fudge just wasnt doing it for me this year. I knew at some point I would make some cutouts and some snowballs, but to start off my baking marathon I wanted something new. So, I went to my ever long list of what I hope to bake and the gingerbread biscotti jumped out at me. I found this recipe on Allrecipes.com. These are very very good. I was surprised I even liked them as I am NOT a gingerbread fan, but honestly these were great especially dipped in coffee..mmmmm!

ENJOY and MERRY CHRISTMAS!

Ingredients:
1/3 cup vegetable oil
1 cup white sugar
3 eggs
1/4 cup molasses
2 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
1 cup whole wheat flour
1 tablespoon baking powder
1 1/2 tablespoons ground ginger
3/4 tablespoon ground cinnamon
1/2 tablespoon ground cloves
1/4 teaspoon ground nutmeg

Directions:
Preheat the oven to 375 degrees F (190 degrees C). Grease a cookie sheet. In a large bowl, mix together oil, sugar, eggs, and molasses. In another bowl, combine flours, baking powder, ginger, cinnamon, cloves, and nutmeg; mix into egg mixture to form a stiff dough. Divide dough in half, and shape each half into a roll the length of the cookie. Place rolls on cookie sheet, and pat down to flatten the dough to 1/2 inch thickness. Bake in preheated oven for 25 minutes. Remove from oven, and set aside to cool. When cool enough to touch, cut into 1/2 inch thick diagonal slices. Place sliced biscotti on cookie sheet, and bake an additional 5 to 7 minutes on each side, or until toasted and crispy. **I did drizzle half with melted white chocolate too**

4 Comments on “Gingerbread biscotti”

  1. bakinandeggs says:

    Sounds delicious and so Christmasy!

  2. Sara says:

    Yum, these look great. I love gingerbread. Cute blog layout, by the way. 🙂

  3. Laura says:

    I love the holiday layout (especially the snow! :))
    These look like a perfect holiday season snack

  4. […] easy to make, makes a lot, and makes for a great holiday goodie plate..here are a few of my faves: Gingerbread Biscotti Candy Cane Biscotti (my favorite!!) M and M Biscotti Lighter Chocolate Cherry Biscotti Lighter […]


Leave a Reply

