Grilled Shrimp with banana and black bean salad

Another hit from Clean eating! I found this recipe from the latest issue of Clean Eating Mag, but used shrimp instead of the tilapia they suggested. This again was easy to make and very flavorful and filing. I liked that this used all ingredients I usually have on hand and could easily whip up at a moments notice! And score healthy AND delicious! I served this  plain brown rice in bowls…it was perfect!!!

ENJOY!

Ingredients:
1 cup dried black beans (soak over night)-I used a can of low sodium black beans
2 semi firm bananas (some green showing, peeled and chopped)
1 small red onion (chopped)
3 small jalapeno peppers seeded and chopped
Juice of 1 lime
2/3 cup packed fresh cilantro
2 tsp chilli powder
Olive oil for coating grill
6-6oz tilapia fillets-I used a lbs of shrimp
1 tsp fine grain sea salt
Fresh ground black pepper

Directions:
Rinse soaked beans with cold water. Place in a large sauce pan and bring to a boil over high heat. reduce heat to med-low and simmer until tender about 1 hour. (I omitted this as I used canned)
Drain and rinse cooked beans (may be done up to 3 days ahead and put in fridge)(I omitted this as I used canned)
In a large bowl combine beans, bananas, onion, jalapenos, lime juice, cilantro and 1 tsp chilli powder. Cover and refrigerate until ready to serve.
Season the fish (I used shrimp) with salt, pepper, and 1tsp remaining chilli powder. Grill over med-high heat 3-4 minutes/side. Serve.

One Comment on “Grilled Shrimp with banana and black bean salad”

  1. This is a new dish! I find it interesting. I am curious on how the dish tastes.


Leave a Reply

