Salmon melts

Nothing better than an easy meal in the summer, that doesnt heat up the house. I was able to make the salmon early in the morning before it got too hot here in the house (used my grill pan), made up the salad part and had it ready to go for dinner time whenever we were hungry. This would make for a great luncheon or brunch sandwich as well. It wasnt heavy and the lemon flavor really brings out the salmon taste without it being fishy! I liked the use of the greek yogurt instead of mayo as well to make this even better for us. Once again I found this in the latest issue of Clean Eating!

ENJOY!

Ingredients:
Evoo cooking spray
about a 1/2 salmon fillet
1 large carrot
2 stalks celery
1 medium onion-I used 3 green onions
6 oz non-fat greek yogurt
2 tsp Dijon mustard-Good quality works the best here
3/4 tsp dill-Optional I omitted as H doesnt like dill AT ALL!
zest of 1/2 lemon and juice from half lemon
1/4 tsp paprika
ww grainy bread-I used a 9 grain flax seed organic bread-one of our faves!
toppings-tomatoes, romaine lettuce, cheese-LF Provolone, etc..

Directions:
Grill up salmon until completely cooked thru. Once done, let cool a few minutes and flake in a bowl.
Add chopped celery, carrot, and onion to the flaked salmon. Toss!
Whisk together yogurt, mustard, dill, lemon zest and juice, and paprika. Season with s and p.
Toss with salmon mixture.
Preheat broiler (I used our grill pan)
Assemble sandwiches and broiler for no more than 3 mins to slightly warm it and melt cheese.
Add any additional toppings you prefer.

One Comment on “Salmon melts”

  1. […] a few months ago when a friend invited me over for lunch and made this beautiful spread featuring Clean Eating’s Salmon Melts. I didn’t have the heart to tell her that salmon was on my small list of foods I won’t […]


Leave a Reply

