Spring rolls

After everything I went thru to make this recipe, it better have been good, and thank goodness it was. I had a VERY HARD time finding spring roll wrappers! I had been to about 5 stores, until I headed 35 mins out of my way to my whole foods. I knew they would have it and should have just gone there from the beginning!! But thankfully after all of that hunting, these rolls were great. I used several ideas from recipes I found online and came up with one I knew H and I would love. The great thing about spring rolls is you can add your likes and create a variety of different rolls. Below is the one we enjoyed the most!

ENJOY!

Ingredients:
Spring roll wrappers
Cooked shrimp (about three per roll) cut in half
Avocado sliced thinly
Mango sliced lengthwise very thinly
Herbs to your liking-I omitted this part-most like mint or cilantro
Yellow and red peppers Julienne
Soba or black bean noodles-I omitted
Scallions slice lengthwise thinly
carrots thinly sliced

Directions:
In a bowl of warm water, not too hot or too cool, soak one wrapper for about 20 seconds or until pliable. Working carefully fill the roll and carefully roll up tucking in the sides and tightly wrapping up without tearing the wrapper. Place on plate seam side down. Cover with a damp towel until all the rolls are completed. Serve immediately with desired dipping sauces.

Some dipping sauces could include:
Peanut dipping sauce
Spicy Hoisin Dipping sauce
Mango and pepper dipping sauce-our fave see below:
Plain soy sauce
The choices are endless.

Mango dipping sauce:
Ingredients:
1 mango, peeled, pit removed
3 Tablespoons hot sauce (use your favorite brand!)
1/2 cup honey
1/2 teaspoon sea salt
1 teaspoon freshly cracked pepper

Directions:
Peel the mango, and cut away from the pit, dropping the fruit into a blender. Add in the hot sauce, honey, sea salt and pepper, and blend until smooth (use a spatula to push down the sides as needed to blend thoroughly). Cover and keep refrigerated until ready to use.

2 Comments on “Spring rolls”


Leave a Reply

