Brown Rice Risotto

I have been on the hunt for brown arborio rice to use in risotto in place of the white rice. Of course, my Whole Foods had it..SCORE! This was just as good as the white version, but much healthier!

ENJOY!

Ingredients:
1 Tbsp. extra virgin olive oil
1 medium onion, chopped
1 tbsp garlic minced
1/2 c. brown Arborio rice
2 c. chicken broth warmed, divided-I used low sodium, organic brand
1 c. water
Sea salt

Directions:
Add oil, onion and garlic to a large skillet and cook until translucent.Add rice and stir to coat rice well. Add  1 cup of broth. Stir occasionally. Allow broth to be absorbed before adding second cup. Stir and let absorb before adding water. Stir and add sea salt. ***I also top with a bit of fresh shredded parm cheese***

2 Comments on “Brown Rice Risotto”

  1. brannyboilsover says:

    What a lucky find!

  2. Yum! I don’t think my store has brown arborio rice but I’ll have to keep my eyes open.


Leave a Reply

