Orzo Pasta with Peas and Parmesan Cheese

This was a great great side dish I needed in a hurry! My original side dish idea didn’t work out, so when I found this recipe I was all over it. I did clean it up with using Earth Balance butter spread, ww orzo, half the parmesan asked for and organic chicken broth (I just love that brand and all they make is the organic one..LOL!

ENJOY!

Ingredients:
1 tablespoon butter
2 tablespoons olive oil
1 medium to large onion – minced
2-3 cloves garlic – minced
1 tablespoon fresh oregano
1 pound orzo pasta
4 1/2 cups chicken broth
1/2 cup dry white wine
1 1/4 cup frozen peas
1 cup grated Parmesan cheese
1/4 teaspoon nutmeg
Salt
Pepper

Directions:
Add the butter and olive oil to a large pan or stock pot placed over medium heat.
Add the onions, and let sweat for approximately 5 minutes, or until they begin to turn translucent.Stir in the garlic and oregano and cook for one more minute.
Stir in the orzo, and cook for 3-5 minutes until golden brown, stirring occasionally.
Add the chicken broth and wine, and bring to a boil.
Reduce the heat to low and continue cooking, while stirring occasionally, until most of the liquid has been absorbed.
Stir in the frozen peas, Parmesan cheese and nutmeg.
Let the peas heat through, then remove the pan from the stove.
Add salt and pepper to taste.
6 Comments on “Orzo Pasta with Peas and Parmesan Cheese”

  1. Nicole says:

    Can’t wait to try this!

  2. […] Orzo Pasta with Peas and Parmesan Cheese « LOVES TO EAT […]

  3. […] Orzo Pasta with Peas and Parmesan Cheese « LOVES TO EAT […]

  4. Creamy Parmesan Farro…

    I found your entry interesting thus I’ve added a Trackback to it on my weblog :)…

  5. Fava Beans – The Flavor of Spring…

    I found your entry interesting thus I’ve added a Trackback to it on my weblog :)…

  6. Amy says:

    Mmmm!! This looks so good, I think I’m gonna make it for dinner tommorrow! Thanks for this recipe.


Leave a Reply

