Candy bar shortbread cookies

What an easy but fun dessert from Martha Stewart. This recipe can be adapted to any candy you enjoy and for any holiday or event! I like the use of Reese’s Pieces because it reminds me of Halloween! I also used Kit-Kats and Snickers bars to add variety and fun to it! Choose your favorite candy and enjoy! At the bottom you can see how I used 3 different candy bars. I quartered it and each had their own section and then I put all three together in the 4th spot!! ;) I hope our friend’s son enjoys these!!!

ENJOY!

Ingredients:
2 sticks butter softened
3/4 cup light brown sugar
tsp salt if using unsalted butter, leave out if using salted butter
2 cups AP flour
1 cup chocolate chips
12 oz favorite candy bars, chopped if needed-I used Reese’s Pieces, Kit-Kats, and Snickers.

DIrections:
Preheat oven to 350. Prepare an 8 inch baking pan (I lined with foil for easy release)
Cream butter and light brown sugar and salt about 3 mins. Once creamed, add in flour in 3 additions, blending well in between each addition. (It will be a bit crumbly).
Add to prepared pan and bake for 30-35 mins (until golden brown and firm). Add chocolate chips on top and place back into oven for a minute more. Take out of oven and with an offset spatula, smooth out the melted chocolate chips. Add candy bar pieces and let cool on wire rack for 30 mins. Then pop into fridge to firm up for a couple minutes before cutting. You should get 16 bars. (I cut mine larger and got 12!!! LOL).

3 Comments on “Candy bar shortbread cookies”

  1. thecookingnurse says:

    I’m going to bring this next time my family gets together!

  2. Tricia Adams says:

    *droooool*

    I think I’ll try this with candy corn – my boyfriend is an addict and his b-day is coming up :-)

  3. So creative and simple
    Remind me to stock up on mars bars, ice cream and some caramel syrup

    Make that caramel AND chocolate syrup… Oops :)


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 131 other followers