Sour cream drop cookies

This holiday season my baking will be a lot less than I would normally bake. With a neck/back injury I can’t be in the kitchen very long at all..BOO. So I needed to find easy baking recipes. My normal cut out cookies are out since they take so long to roll out and decorate BUMMER. I could make sugar cookie bars, but wanted something a bit more Christmasy. I saw this recipe and after reading realized it is just what I was looking for. Easy, tasty, and Christmasy. Using sour cream in cookies for me always seems Holiday-ish, plus this recipe was very easy, so for me this year, this was it. I did use almond instead of vanilla in the batter as I love sour cream cookies with almond at Christmas. This was easy to mix up, chill and then bake. I was able to do it in parts as to not tire my neck or back. The frosting was perfect on top too. This was just like a cutout cookie, yet soooo much easier and less strain on me! SCORE!

MERRY CHRISTMAS!

ENJOY!

Ingredients:
For the cookies:
1/2 cup butter
3/4 cup light brown sugar
3/4 cup sugar
2 eggs
1 cup sour cream
1 teaspoon vanilla
2 3/4 cups flour
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda

For the glaze:
1 cup butter (2 sticks)
4 cups powdered sugar
3-4 tablespoons boiling water
1 teaspoon vanilla

Directions:
Cream together the butter, brown sugar, white sugar, eggs, sour cream and vanilla together until well incorporated. Add in the flour, baking soda and baking powder until combined thoroughly.  Chill the dough at least one hour before baking.
Using a cookie scoop or a tablespoon, scoop the dough onto a cookie sheet lined with parchment paper. Bake the cookies at 400 degrees F for 8-10 minutes. The cookies are done when they begin to brown on the bottom, although they may appear underdone on the top. Let cool before frosting.
To make the glaze: Melt the butter, then add the sifted powdered sugar and vanilla. Add the boiling water, one tablespoon at a time until you reach the desired consistency. The glaze should be thick enough to spread with a spoon, but not run down the sides of the cookies. The glaze will harden on the cookie as it cools.

One Comment on “Sour cream drop cookies”

  1. Wow! Those look so bright! They look like Christmas lights!


Leave a Reply

