Crispy Chicken Sandwiches-Clean Eating

The latest issue of Clean Eating Magazine arrived and I fell in love with almost all of the recipes!!! The first one we tried was the crispy chicken sandwiches. I did make a few changes..I didnt pound ours thin, baked ours in the oven for 30- 45 mins and H had his on Hawaiian rolls and I had mine on a low carb wrap. This was easy and super good! Next time I will try frying them as suggested but I didnt want to make a fuss…throwing in the oven was easier for me!! 🙂

ENJOY!

Ingredients:
1/3 cup nonfat plain Greek style yogurt
3 tbsp chopped fresh dill
1 tbsp fresh lemon juice
1/4 tsp sea salt and gr black pepper divided
4 egg whites
1 tsp Dijon mustard
1 cup whole-wheat panko bread crumb
1/3 cup whole-wheat flour
4 4-oz boneless, skinless chicken cutlets, pounded 1/4 inch thick
1 tbsp olive oil
4 thin whole-grain sandwich buns toasted
2 cups watercress-we used spinach leaves
1/2 English cucumber thinly sliced
2 jarred roasted red peppers, drained and sliced

Directions:
In a small bol, whisk together yogurt, dill, and lemon juice. Season with 1/8 tsp each of salt and pepper.
In a separate bowl, whisk together egg white, mustard and remaining 1/8 tsp salt and pepper. Set aside. Transfer panko to a shallow pan or plate. Transfer flour to a second shallow pan or plate.
Dredge each chicken cutlet in flour, shaking off excess, then in egg white mixture. Press cutlets gently into panko and transfer to a baking tray or plate.
Heat oil in pan (I heated oven). Working in batches if necessary, sear breaded chicken cutlets for 3 to 4 minutes per side, until golden brown and fully cooked. Transfer to a paper towel lined plate.
Assemble sandwiches with preferred toppings. Serve immediately.

2 Comments on “Crispy Chicken Sandwiches-Clean Eating”

  1. Fisch Foods says:

    I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE pretty much all the recipes in this recent Clean Eating Magazine too! I’m going to be posting a bunch on Fisch Foods. Usually I try and switch up where I get my recipes from a bit, but I just can’t help it. They’re all great!!!

    Love your posting, and can’t wait to try it.

  2. katie says:

    These looks delicious, I love that you added cucumbers and roasted red peppers, sounds like a lovely combination.


Leave a Reply

