Tuna burgers

I love burgers. Turkey burgers, steak burgers, chicken burgers, salmon burgers, etc. So when I saw this recipe I knew I had to try it. I did change a few things about the recipe tho. Instead of canned tuna, I used tuna steaks and chopped them in my food processor. I did use fewer eggs than suggested and instead of eggs, I used egg beaters. I posted my recipe below, but click the link above and you can find the original recipe!
You can grill or skillet cook these patties. I find a skillet with a bit of evoo works the best!

ENJOY!

Ingredients:
2 (4-6-ounce) tuna steaks
1/2 cup breadcrumbs-I used ww panko
2 large eggs, lightly beaten-I used only 1 egg’s worth of egg beaters
1/2 cup finely chopped onion
1/2 cup finely chopped celery
1 tablespoon chopped pimento, optional-I omitted this
1 tablespoon fresh lemon juice
1 1/2 teaspoons prepared horseradish
1 clove garlic, minced
1/4 teaspoon pepper
1 tablespoon olive oil
Toppings:
We used:
White extra sharp cheddar
Spinach
Sliced tomatoes

Directions:
Throw all ingredients into a food processor and coarsely chop.
Once chopped, mix by hand throughly to incorporate and well mix all ingredients.
Make patties. Chill patties at leat 30 mins to firm up.
Heat grill or pan and brush with a bit of evoo.(I found a skillet heated with a bit of oil works the best on these patties) Add patties, salt and pepper to taste, and grill or cook on both sides about 5 mins each side.
Top with cheese and let melt about one minute.
Serve immediately with lettuce (we used spinach) and tomatoes.

Leave a Reply

