Healthier baked donuts

So I know donuts are not healthy. But after doing some research they can be!! First, baking your treat over frying cuts back on fat and calories. Then swapping out some of the ingredients for better choices helps. So you can enjoy a treat once in a whole! 🙂
Recently, I win a donut pan from Nicole over at Prevention RD blog! I was ecstatic. But now came the daunting task of choosing btw being healthy or just diving right in feet first to a high calorie but oh so delicious donut?!? I decided my inaugural batch would be healthified especially carb wise as I’m still having some issues there. So on Nicole’s blog, she had some heathy donut recipes! Score. I included her original recipe below, but for my batch I swapped out the flour for half whole wheat pastry and half almond flour, cut back on the sugar and cut back some of the oil. I know I know enough changes already, but thankfully they were great. To keep calories down, keep them plain or top with sugar free chips as I did here. I did also indulge my H and did some powder sugar glaze and powder sugar ones. All varieties were great. I will try full cal and fat varieties soon but I wanted to try to make these healthy my first time out. And they were great!
*Nicole’s recipe below, but adapt as you see fit! Plus, check out her blog for all kinds if healthy recipes. She does a fantastic job of creating healthy yet very tasty dishes! *

As you can see you can top your donuts anyway you enjoy!

Enjoy!

20120125-143949.jpg

Ingredients:
1 cup all-purpose flour (I make substitutions here)
1/3 cup sugar(I cut the sugar back)
3/4 tsp baking powder
3/4 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp salt
1 egg
1 tub (150 gm) fat-free plain Greek yogurt
1 Tbsp canola oil
2 tsp lemon juice
1 tsp vanilla extract
Toppings of choice

Directions:
Preheat oven to 400 F.
In a large bowl, combine flour, sugar, baking powder, baking soda, and salt. In a separate bowl, combine egg, yogurt, canola oil, lemon juice, and vanilla extract.
Fold the wet ingredients into the dry, mixing until just combined.
Spray the donut pan with nonstick cooking spray very well.
Divide batter among pans. Place the batter only half full (or less) so that you will see donut hole when baked. They rise a lot!
Bake for 10 minutes or until a toothpick inserted near the center comes out clean. Cool for 5 minutes before removing from pans to wire rack.

Top as necessary.
Yield: 12 donuts.

2 Comments on “Healthier baked donuts”

  1. […] Easy Low Fat RecipesNo-Longer-Relevant Pumpkin Cream Cheese MuffinsHealthy FatLow Carb RecipesSuper Simple Lemon Garlic Herb Roast Chicken – Real Foodpecan pumpkin glazed baked donut recipe — pure2rawCooking WithoutHealthier baked donuts […]

  2. PB Rippey says:

    These are delicious. I used 1/2 Greek and 1/2 strawberry yogurt, everything else the same.


Leave a Reply

