Orange-Vanilla Cupcakes

I wanted to bake for H and the men at the garage where he works on his car, but I have recently made them a lot of chocolate desserts, so I needed something new. When I saw this recipe on Shawna’s Blog, adapted from Joy of Baking, I knew this was the recipe I wanted to make. I did use the zest of an orange instead of lemon. The cupcakes came out with a nice  hint of orange and were super moist. They are very good especially when topped with cream cheese frosting.

Also, Shawna added orange extract instead of zest to give a deeper orange flavor. I didnt have any, but it will deepen the orange flavor. Good idea!

ENJOY!

p2200016

Ingredients:
½ cup unsalted butter, softened
2/3 cup sugar
3 large eggs
1 tsp. Vanilla extract
Zest of 1 large lemon (optional – I used orange)
1 ½ cups all purpose flour
1 ½ tsp. Baking powder
¼ tsp. Salt
¼ cup milk

Directions:
Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (177 degrees C) and lightly butter or line 12 muffin cups with paper liners.

For the Cupcakes: Cream the butter and sugar until light and fluffy. Add the eggs, one at a time, beating well after each addition. Beat in the vanilla extract and lemon zest.

In a separate bowl whisk together the flour, baking powder, and salt.

With the mixer on low speed, alternately add the flour mixture and milk, in three additions, beginning and ending with the flour. Scrape down the sides of the bowl.

Evenly fill the muffin cups with the batter and bake for about 18-20 minutes or until nicely browned and a toothpick inserted into a cupcake comes out clean. Remove from oven and place on a wire rack to cool. Once the cupcakes have completely cooled, frost with icing. If you want flat topped cupcakes then slice off the dome of each cupcake, with a sharp knife, before frosting.


16 Comments on “Orange-Vanilla Cupcakes”

  1. […] lovestoeat A great frosting for deep chocolate cakes, red velvet cakes, carrot cakes, and for the orange cupcakes I made recently. I found this recipe on Simply Recipes and it was nice and light and […]

  2. Carrie says:

    YUMMY! I love orange anything I will have to try these. Are the cupcakes good alone for a breakfast type muffin?

  3. Shawna says:

    OH yay!!! Those look great!!!! 🙂

  4. lovestoeat says:

    they are very much cupcake like, but if you add cranberry and a bit of orange pieces it would make a great muffin

  5. Erin says:

    These look VERY yummy!

  6. Joelen says:

    Now this looks amazing! Great job!

  7. Maci says:

    these look so great! I am so going to try these!

  8. Sasha says:

    Yum! I wonder how these would work with lime zest.

  9. Shauna says:

    Hey girly, those look amazing!! I am going to put them on my list of “have to make” recipes.

  10. Liz says:

    These look awesome! I’m not much of a baker, but I think I’m going to have to try these out 🙂

  11. finsmom says:

    A creamsicle cupcake???? How delish!!! I bet they tasted incredible 🙂 I love the presentation!

  12. Val says:

    Can’t go wrong with a cupcake made of my favorite ice cream treat flavor. Thank you for sharing your version at Food Gawker. ;o}

  13. colleen says:

    Orange and vanilla! It’s like a creamsicle – they look delicious!

  14. chumpman says:

    orange and vanilla! great combination! The tangy taste of orange with sweet-aromatic vanilla. nice recipe! HMmm maybe can try this kind of combination for a sponge cake?

  15. […] quickly on the others and get them into the fridge to completely set. I used these on top of my Orange Vanilla Cupcakes (H fave!) and couldn’t wait to share them with H sister’s family who were coming to […]


Leave a comment