Salmon Clubs with avocado butter

I saw this recipe on The Way the Cookie Crumbles and have been dying to make it, but just never got around to it, until now. I knew this week was a perfect time to make it for myself as this is a meal H would never eat. So while he was busy this week, I knew it was time to make it. I loved the idea of using avocado as a spread and adding salmon on as the meat.
This sandwich was perfect. I did use regular salt and ww bread instead, but the rest was the same and it was great. Check out her blog for MANY other excellent ideas!!

ENJOY!

p31700202

Ingredients:
Makes 2 sandwiches- I made one regular sandwich and kept the rest for tomorrow’s meal.
1 ripe avocado, pitted and peeled
Juice from half a lemon
1 tablespoon unsalted butter, at room temperature
salt
1 8-ounce salmon fillet, sliced into ¾-inch pieces
6 slices pumpernickel bread, toasted-I used WW bread
1½ cups arugula leaves, loosely packed

Directions:
Place the avocado, lemon juice, butter, and ½ teaspoon kosher salt (⅓ teaspoon table salt) in a food processor. Pulse until nearly smooth, about 30 seconds. Set aside. (You can also just mash it with a fork.)

Place a medium nonstick skillet over medium heat. Coat with vegetable cooking spray. Sprinkle the salmon liberally with salt. Place in heated skillet. Cook until just cooked through, about 3 minutes per side. Transfer to a plate.

Assemble 2 sandwiches, alternating pumpernickel (I used WW), avocado butter, salmon, and arugula. Secure with toothpicks before serving.


2 Comments on “Salmon Clubs with avocado butter”

  1. bridget says:

    I’m so glad you liked this! I really need to make it again soon. Hmm, maybe Friday, actually.

  2. Joelen says:

    Now this is fantastic – I love salmon and avocado together!


Leave a comment