Chocolate Butterflies

A great way to decorate your baked goods. I saw this idea in my Hello Cupcake book and knew I had to make them in the spring. I did have a bit of trouble working with the chocolate, but with more practice I will have it down pat. I did notice that after the chocolate melted, let it sit a bit to cool off. The very melted chocolate is hard to pipe and runs all over the place. Once it was a bit cooler, it was very easy to work with. Take your time and work one wing at a time so you can pull the two colors together and get some decoration on the top to stick. Once done, work quickly on the others and get them into the fridge to completely set. I used these on top of my Orange Vanilla Cupcakes (H fave!) and couldn’t wait to share them with H sister’s family who were coming to visit!! These would make a picnic, spring or summer party, or girl’s birthday party table festive. Grab a copy of the Hello Cupcake book soon and get started. They provide the directions for a TON of cute cupcake ideas and all are to die for!!

I did make a couple changes as I ran out of chocolate and frosting, so I used chocolate chips instead. Not perfect for my first time, but definitely something I will do again. It was fun and really made the cupcakes stand out!

ENJOY!

dsc06823

HAPPY SPRING and HAPPY EASTER!


14 Comments on “Chocolate Butterflies”

  1. Cara says:

    These look so great! I can’t believe it was your first time making them. I’m so impressed! I think I would not want to actually eat them because they’re so pretty…

  2. Bridget says:

    I like the chocolate chips! They look perfect!

  3. elly says:

    Those turned out great! What a cute way to dress up cupcakes!

  4. alice says:

    Way to cute!

  5. Joelen says:

    These are gorgeous! Great job!!

  6. Alan says:

    Dear lovestoeat

    Your butterflies are gorgeous. We love the way you used chocolate chips for the bodies. You got really nice waves going in the chocolate where you pulled the two colors together, and really nice color choices by the way. Keep on cupcaking!

    Alan Richardson and Karen Tack
    Authors of Hello, Cupcake!

  7. Maryanna says:

    These look so cute, and Wow… you even got props from the authors of Hello Cupcake!!!

  8. brannyboilsover says:

    K, you rock!!

  9. Molly Jean says:

    Those are GORGEOUS! You did a terrific job.

    (and hello AWESOME for the shout out from the authors!)

    🙂

  10. Laura says:

    beautiful cupcakes! That’s so cool that the authors gave you props : )

  11. thefrenchkitchen says:

    These are so cool!

  12. Jessica says:

    These look great 🙂


Leave a comment