Chocolate Cupcakes with Pumpkin Buttercream

I love a deep, moist, chocolaty cupcake. This recipe from Joy the Baker and it was perfect. It reminded me of the Guinness Cupcakes I made back at St Pat’s Day. The pumpkin butter cream (see recipe below), from A Year in the Kitchen, was a different kind of butter cream that I have ever made, but it was smooth, creamy, and excellent with the chocolate cupcakes!

ENJOY!

DSC06946

Ingredients:
Chocolate Cupcakes:
1/2 cup (50 grams) Dutch-processed cocoa powder
1 cup (240 ml) boiling hot water
1 1/3 cups (175 grams) all purpose flour
2 teaspoons baking powder

1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup (113 grams) unsalted butter, room temperature
1 cup (200 grams) granulated white sugar
2 large eggs
2 teaspoons pure vanilla extract

Directions:
Cupcakes: Preheat oven to 375 degrees F (190 degrees C). Lightly butter, or line 16 muffin cups with paper liners.
In a small bowl stir until smooth the boiling hot water and the cocoa powder. Let cool to room temperature.
In another bowl, whisk together the flour, baking powder, and salt.
Then in the bowl of your electric mixer, or with a hand mixer, cream the butter and sugar until light and fluffy. Add the eggs, one at a time, beating until smooth. Beat in the vanilla extract. Add the flour mixture and beat only until incorporated. Then add the cooled cocoa mixture and stir until smooth.
Fill each muffin cup two-thirds full with batter and bake for about 16-20 minutes or until risen, springy to the touch, and a toothpick inserted into a cupcake comes out clean. Remove from oven and place on a wire rack to cool. Once the cupcakes have completely cooled, frost with icing.

Pumpkin Butter Cream:
2 sticks of unsalted butter at room temp
1/2 c. pumpkin puree
1 tsp. cinnamon
1/2 tsp. ginger
1/2 tsp. salt
1 tsp. vanilla extract
2 lbs. confectioner’s sugar (more or less)

Cream butter, pumpkin and spices. Slowly add sugar until the buttercream is no longer seperated by the pumpkin. Use or keep chilled for up to 2 weeks.

 


17 Comments on “Chocolate Cupcakes with Pumpkin Buttercream”

  1. Erin says:

    These look yummy! Pumpkin buttercream sounds great!

  2. Sara says:

    Yum! I’m a sucker for all things pumpkin. These sound delicious.

  3. Jamieanne says:

    I made that same pumpkin buttercream and used it on chocolate pumpkin cupcakes; they remain one of my favorite cupcakes I’ve ever made! 🙂

  4. Cara says:

    I love pumpkin and chocolate together, I bet these are great!

  5. Erin says:

    I adore this combo! I made something very similar for Halloween except I used pumpkin cream cheese frosting with Hershey’s Perfectly Chocolate Cake. I’ll admit, though I prefer the taste of a cream cheese frosting, I love the way your buttercream stiffens for decorating!

  6. Melissa says:

    I can’t wait to make pumpkin buttercream this fall!

  7. Bridget says:

    Pumpkin Buttercream….mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm

  8. Kitty says:

    What a perfect combination! You are a genius!

  9. ashlee says:

    hey, glad you like the buttercream, would you mind linking a year in the kitchen to my blog? this recipe is one of my very favorite and most proud originals!

  10. […] Chocolate Cupcakes with Pumpkin Buttercream from Lovestoeat is a little bit of an unusual recipe because you don’t see pumpkin […]

  11. […] Chocolate Cupcakes with Pumpkin Buttercream […]

  12. Jenn says:

    WOW! SOOO yummy! Thanks for the recipe!

  13. Angela Morando says:

    Can’t wait to make these! YUM

  14. […] pumpkin puree from pie pumpkins that I bake in the oven. The recipe can be found at a blog called Loves to Eat. They used the frosting to frost some chocolate […]

  15. Tonya says:

    I made these and they are wonderful! However, my buttercream turned out runny, and wouldn’t hold shape for piping. What am I doing wrong? I’m new to baking

    • lovestoeat says:

      Could be too warm in your house, too much liquid..sometimes on buttercreams you have to play around with the ingredients. You might need more dry ingredients and less liquid/wet ingredients.


Leave a comment