Three Cheese Mini Macs

A great appetizer or side dish to any dinner/lunch. I did make ours in muffin tins instead of mini muffin tins as I wanted this as the main entree for our dinner tonight. I also cut the recipe in half for the two of us and have just a bit of leftovers for meatless Friday (LENT!!). I found this fabulous recipe from Food and Wine. The mix of cheeses and smaller portions are OMG so good. I am normally a “blue box” girl and have never really liked homemade Mac and Cheese. I know, I know crazy, but I just love the blue box. But after having this recipe, I dont think I will fall for the blue box anymore. Plus these were easy to make up ahead of time, thru step 4 and bake whenever we were ready for dinner. Nothing is better than a quick, comforting meal anytime.
Plus the mini size is perfect as an appetizer. They go great with chicken fingers, veggie trays, and fruit trays. A perfectly well rounded appetizer table!

And apparently mine fell apart once they were out of the muffin pan. Maybe the mini ones hold up better?? LOL!

ENJOY!

p3260008

Ingredients: I included the entire recipe that makes 48 mini -muffin macs or 24 muffin sized portions. Here is the original recipe. Adapt as you need.
1/2 pound elbow macaroni
1 1/2 tablespoons unsalted butter, plus more for brushing
1/4 cup freshly grated Parmigiano-Reggiano cheese
2 tablespoons all-purpose flour
3/4 cup milk
4 ounces cheddar cheese, shredded (1 packed cup)
4 ounces deli-sliced American cheese, chopped
1 large egg yolk
1/4 teaspoon smoked Spanish paprika
Directions:
Preheat the oven to 425°. In a large saucepan of boiling salted water, cook the macaroni until al dente, about 5 minutes. Drain, shaking off the excess water.
Brush four 12-cup, nonstick mini muffin tins with butter. Sprinkle with 2 tablespoons of the Parmigiano; tap out the excess.
In a large saucepan, melt the 1 1/2 tablespoons of butter. Whisk in the flour over moderate heat for 2 minutes. Whisk in the milk and cook, whisking, until boiling, about 5 minutes. Add the cheddar and American cheeses and whisk until melted. Off the heat, whisk in the egg yolk and paprika. Fold in the macaroni.
Spoon slightly rounded tablespoons of the macaroni into the prepared muffin cups, packing them gently. Sprinkle the remaining 2 tablespoons of Parmigiano on top.
Bake the mini macs in the upper and middle thirds of the oven for about 10 minutes, until golden and sizzling. Let cool for 5 min­utes. Using a small spoon, carefully loosen the mini macs, transfer to a platter and serve.

6 Comments on “Three Cheese Mini Macs”

  1. Molly Jean says:

    Mmm that looks so good. I’m a sucker for mac and cheese in ANY form so who cares if they didn’t stay in the muffin shape 😉

  2. tiffany says:

    I made these before and mine fell apart too. Yours look good!

  3. Bridget says:

    Suddenly, I am craving mac & cheese at 6:58 am. 🙂

  4. Debbie says:

    I love mac and cheese. Who needs a cute muffin shape anyways? It looks great.

  5. Laure says:

    What a cool idea – even if they fell apart, they still look and sound delicious! Mac ‘n’ cheese is my all-time fav – I’m starring this one!

  6. ash says:

    i’m still a blue box girl 🙂 i’ve yet to make some at home that’s as good as the blue box. i’ll have to try this one out!


Leave a comment