Healthier Banana Nut and Chocolate Chip Muffins

As I continue my search for healthier muffins, I found the recipe section on Spark People. Spark recipes are great because they are tried and true recipes from member and give all the nutritional information. I found this banana nut muffin recipe to be lower in carbs than any of the others I had seen. I also used splenda instead of reg. sugar, more ww flour than white and added oats for more fiber. I also used mini chocolate chips to cut down on the calorie count! They came out perfect! I was very happy with the results and they keep me filled up all morning long! And by the looks of the picture, I must have been bored!! LOL!

ENJOY!

Ingredients:
* Banana, fresh, 1.5 cup, mashed
* Egg, fresh, 2 large
* Granulated Sugar, 1 cup
* Butter, salted, .5 cup
* Milk, 1%, .5 cup
* Baking Soda, 1 tsp
* Vanilla Extract, 1 tsp
* *Whole Wheat Flour, 1.25 cup
* *Flour, white, 1.25 cup
* Milk Chocolate Candy, .5 cup chips
* Pecans, .5 cup, chopped

Directions:
Mix together sugar and butter. Add banana, milk, eggs, vanilla. Slowly add dry ingredients. Add chocolate chips and nuts if desired.

Makes 2 eight inch loaves or 12 large muffins.

Cook at 350 degrees until knife comes out clean. 60 minutes for a loaf, 25-35 minutes for large muffins.



Leave a comment