Easy Cannellini Bean and Ham Soup

A great recipe from Gourmet magazine that I found on a great site,              Rec(ession)ipes. I love using leftover ham for a great bean soup, but with it warmer, making an all day soup just isn’t possible. So, when I saw this recipe for a quick version of it, I knew I had to make it. I do still have the bone to make a long, simmering soup come this fall, but we can now enjoy soup anytime of the year!

ENJOY!

DSC06956

Ingredients:
4 large garlic cloves, chopped
1 large onion, chopped
2.5 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil
1 14.5oz. can stewed tomatoes, coarsely cut-I omitted, but used carrots instead
2 cups low-sodium chicken broth
2 19 oz. cans cannellini beans, rinsed and drained
1 1/2-lb piece baked ham (sliced 3/4 inch thick), cut into 1/2-inch cubes
1/4 teaspoon black pepper
10 oz spinach (roughly torn)
Directions:
In a large pot, sauté the chopped garlic and onion in 1/2 tablespoons of olive oil over moderately high heat until the onions turn golden (approx. 3-5 minutes).

Add the can of cut stewed tomatoes and juice to pot and stir.-I added carrots instead.

When the juice starts to simmer, add the beans, ham and black pepper.

Add the chicken broth, stir and bring to a boil.

When the broth starts to boil, reduce the heat until it settles at a simmer.

When the soup is simmering, pile the spinach on top of the pot to steam the spinach. As the spinach starts to wilt, stir it into the soup and turn off the heat.

Serve immediately.


6 Comments on “Easy Cannellini Bean and Ham Soup”

  1. So glad you liked it! Thanks for the shoutout!

  2. Brianna says:

    I saw this in the magazine too! It sounded so good! can’t wait to make it …

  3. caroline says:

    Thanks so much for posting this recipe! I tried it first when it appeared in the magazine, and am glad to have it again. One of our all-time favorites. BTW, we used the tomatoes, as odd as it sounds, and it MAKES it!

  4. Amanda says:

    I was worried this was going to be bland but it was really good! I used pureed tomatoes and added celery and diced carrots. I also used kale instead of spinach. This will be great leftovers tomorrow as well, thank you!

  5. Kerry Cain says:

    That was the best. So easy and quick. I just used Hormel Canned Ham. Made it
    Taste as if I had spent the whole day cooking. I also used tomatoes.
    Thanks just what I was looking for.

  6. Kelly Gendreau says:

    That was so good!!! I used up my Easter Ham and used both carrots and stewed tomatoes. This is definitely going into my rotation.


Leave a comment