Cajun scallops with spicy mango salsa

I am NOT a scallop fan, but my H is. So every once in a while, I remember that fact and pick some up for him for dinner. Normally, I make myself shrimp when he has scallops because I find most shrimp and scallop recipes are similar, so no extra prep needed. You can swap shrimp and scallops easily. But for some reason, this recipe from Clean Eating Mag, sounded appealing to me as the scallop version. Overall, I would have preferred shrimp, but this time the scallops didnt turn me off totally! I ended up really liking this as H loved it too! SCORE!

ENJOY!

Ingredients:
2 medium tomatoes, seeded and chopped
1 mango, peeled and chopped
1/2 small onion, chopped
1 jalapeno, seeded and chopped
1/2 cup fresh cilantro leaves chopped
Juice 1 lime
Sea salt and fresh ground black pepper to taste
1.5 lbs. sea scallops
Olive oil or Canola oil cooking spray

Cajun Rub
1/2 tsp. sea salt
1/2 tsp. ground black pepper
1 tsp. garlic powder
1 tsp. dry mustard
2 tsp. chile powder
1/2 tsp. cayenne pepper

Directions:
In a medium bowl, combine tomatoes, mango, onion, jalapeno and cilantro.  Squeeze lime juice over tomato mixture and season with salt and black pepper.  Set aside in refrigerator.
Combine all Cajun Rub ingredients in a small bowl.  Heat a large nonstick skillet over medium-high heat. Pat scallops dry with paper towel and season both sides with rub.  Lightly mist skillet with cooking spray.  Add scallops and cook for 2 minutes per side.  Serve with mango salsa, garnishing with additional cilantro, if desired.

 Nutrition per serving (3 or 4 scallops and 3/4 Cup salsa)
Calories: 213, Total Fat: 2 g Saturated Fat: 0.25 g, Carbs: 19 g, Fiber: 2.5 g, Sugars: 10 g, Protein: 30 g, Sodium: 569 mg, Cholesterol: 56 mg 


One Comment on “Cajun scallops with spicy mango salsa”

  1. alisonlewis says:

    This sounds really good!!


Leave a comment